Tuesday, September 15, 2015

Home School

As I posted last week, we began our third year of homeschooling last Tuesday.  We schooled on Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, and Friday.  Everything is going good.  Alex is easing into the routine well. This week, we will start our full schedule after a week of a lighter schedule. Since we work on a 4 day/week schedule, I was hoping to make Mon-Thurs our 4 days and leaving Friday for catch up work or free time or whatever.  This week, it won't happen like that b/c of dr. appts, ect., so it's another Tues-Fri week for us. I am going to have to get into the habit of making all these appts for Fridays. But that is the beauty of homeschooling. You can work school around life, making your own schedule.  

This week, we will be working in Social Studies, Math, English and Science, as well as handwriting, (we practice handwriting by writing Bible memory verses for the week), Reading, Spelling, and Vocabulary. The following schedule is usually how we roll around the homeschooling day.

  1. Social Studies
  2. English
  3. Handwriting on Tuesdays and Thursdays (Bible memory verses from each subject)
  4. Vocabulary on Mondays and Wednesdays (Mon - Social Studies vocab, Wed - Science vocab)
  5. Science 
  6. 1/2 of Math assignments
  7. Reading
  8. Spelling City.com (new list of words every two weeks)
  9. Rest of Math assignments
He takes a 15-30 min. break every 1 hr 15 min. So, assuming we start at or around 1:30 ish (the usual time since I don't get off work until noon and by the time we get home and have lunch, it is usually about that time), we usually don't get done until between 5:30 and 7pm...just depending on how fast or slow he is working in a given day.  Thankfully, Alex is maturing to the point and getting so much better in his reading level, that he is capable of doing a good bit of his work without me sitting beside him all afternoon. There are still some things that I do want to be there beside him with, just to make sure that he understands what he is doing.  But, I am able to leave him be for short periods and do my chores here and there and hopefully a work out too.  

No comments:

Post a Comment